How I went from $2k in a year to $2k in a week.

$1,901.40 in sales after one week of early access

Jake Prins
6 min readNov 24, 2020

After many hours of work, it was finally time to give people access to my new project, a SaaS boilerplate. In the first 5 days of early access, I almost made $2k in sales.

I have made and sold a React boilerplate before, React Milkshake. In the week after launching React Milkshake I made just 29 dollars. I, later on, created upgraded versions of the boilerplate. Every new version sold a bit better than the previous one, but with my completely new project Serverless SaaS I have made more in one week than with all the previous projects combined in a year.

This didn’t just happen because I just got luckier this time. Here is what I did differently.

Photo by Hacker Noon on Unsplash

Landing page before product building

The first mistake I made in the previous projects was working by myself until it was time to launch. This meant I didn’t have an audience.

Inspired by the #BuildInPublic movement, I decided for my new project to first build the landing page and open up a mailing list so people could subscribe and follow the progress of me building the product. Every now and then I shared some updates and slowly grew the mailing list to over 100 people that were sincerely…

--

--