When athletes become developers

Jake Prins
5 min readJun 30, 2016

“So you have been playing professional basketball, worked as a personal trainer, got your Bachelor of Health, and even wrote a book on how to live a healthier lifestyle... Uhmm... Why do you want to work as a developer again?”

It wasn’t unexpected to get questions like this at my first job interviews as a starting web developer. Taking a whole different road and changing my focus to learning how to code wasn’t always easy and I didn’t expect it to be easy to find a job as fast as I wanted to. But after a relatively short amount of time of hard work and dedication, I got accepted for a paid 6-month internship as a web developer at a great company, where I can learn from experienced programmers and work on amazing projects.

Sports and coding?

I can understand that not a lot of people will see a relation between sports and coding, but I do see some fundamental principles that can be found in both and I think that’s why I love to learn how to code and wanted to switch my career. Please allow me to explain.

Playing basketball, or any other kind of sport on top level requires a lot of motivation, dedication, and hard work. You have to practice every day and train hard. A lot of the time, training isn’t a lot of fun. If you want to push your body to the next level, you have to go through the pain and feel…

--

--